Full List of Indianapolis 500 Winners

Talk of the best American Races, and you can never miss the Indianapolis 500. As it stands, the Indy 500 remains the most celebrated American race ever. The race is epic and attracts close to half a million viewers and participants every year. The Indy 500 is normally hosted on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and takes place on Memorial Day’s weekend. So for the motor racing lovers, this is one event that you don’t want to miss out on when listing the best of the best racing events. All fans also love to watch Indy 500 snake pit this the te most epic event during indy 500. Full Indianapolis 500 Winners list you can find here for free. So let’s start.


The Indianapolis 500 is also known as the Indy 500. It is a memorable motor competition that was first held around 1911. The race goes for 500 miles from which it found its name, the Indianapolis 500.
The event is spectacular and will involve an average of 200 laps. Indy 500 is awesome and is considered as a major part of the Triple Crown of the Motorsport world together with the Monaco Grand Prix and 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Indianapolis 500 Winners

Full List of Indianapolis 500 Winners

Since 1911 when the race was first held, there is no doubt that many winners have come and gone. In this post, I am going to give you the list of every one of them, starting by Simon Pagenaud, who is the latest winner of the Indy 500.

Indy 500 All-Time Winners List

Race YearWinner NameRace YearWinner Name
2022Marcus Ericsson1966Graham Hill
2021Hélio Castroneves1965Jim Clark
2020Postponed Due to COVID-191964A.J. Foyt, Jr.
2019Simon Pagenaud1963Parnelli Jones
2018Will Power1962Rodger Ward
2017Takuma Sato1961A.J. Foyt
2016Alexander Rossi1960Jim Rathman
2015Juan P. Montoya1959Rodger Ward
2014Ryan Hunter-Reay1958Jimmy Bryan
2013Tony Kanaan1957Sam Hanks
2012Dario Franchitti
1956Pat Flaherty
2011Dan Wheldon1955Bob Sweikert
2010Dario Franchitti1954Bill Vukovich
2009Helio Castroneves1953Bill Vukovich
2008Scott Dixon1952Troy Ruttman
2007Dario Franchitti1951Lee Wallard
2006Sam Hornish Jr.1950Johnnie Parsons
2005Dan Wheldon1949Bill Holland
2004Buddy Rice1948Mauri Rose
2003Gil de Ferran1947Mauri Rose
2002Helio Castroneves1946George Robson
2001Helio Castroneves1945No race (WWII)
2000Juan P. Montoya1944No race (WWII)
1999Kenny Brack1943No race (WWII)
1998Eddie Cheever Jr.1942No race (WWII)
1997Arie Luyendyk1941Floyd Davis & Mauri Rose
1996Buddy Lazier1940Wilbur Shaw
1995Jacques Villeneuve1939Wilbur Shaw
1994Al Unser Jr.1938Floyd Roberts
1993Emerson Fittipaldi1937Wilbur Shaw
1992Al Unser Jr.1936Louis Meyer
1991Rick Mears1935Kelly Petillo
1990Arie Luyendyk1934Bill Cummings
1989Emerson Fittipaldi1933Louis Meyer
1988Rick Mears1932Fred Frame
1987Al Unser1931Louis Schneider
1986Bobby Rahal1930Billy Arnold
1985Danny Sullivan1929Ray Keech
1984Rick Mears1928Louis Meyer
1983Tom Sneva1927George Souders
1982Gordon Johncock1926Frank Lockhart
1981Bobby Unser1925Peter DePaolo
1980Johnny Rutherford1924JoeBoyer/L.L. Corum
1979Rick Mears1923Tommy Milton
1978Al Unser1922Jimmy Murphy
1977A.J. Foyt, Jr.1921Tommy Milton
1976Johnny Rutherford1920Gaston Chevrolet
1975Bobby Unser1919Howdy Wilcox
1974Johnny Rutherford1918No race (WWI)
1973Gordon Johncock1917No race (WWI)
1972Mark Donohue1916Dario Resta
1971Al Unser1915Ralph DePalma
1970Al Unser1914Rene Thomas
1969Mario Andretti1913Jules Goux
1968Bobby Unser1912Joe Dawson
1967A.J. Foyt1911Ray Harroun

As shown above, the record for the most Indy 500 wins stands at four. The record is shared by tree drivers and is yet to be broken. Looking at the all-time winner’s list, you will find that in the 100 plus years history of the Indy 500, there are only five drivers who have won the race for consecutive years.

Twenty of the Indy 500 winners have also won this race, having started from pole positions. And even better, there is a chance for the rookies too as 10 rookies have won the Indy 500 race since the race has begun. Even so, at least 19 drivers have managed to win the Indy 500 racing event more than once. This should, however, be a telltale sign that this is an extremely difficult race to win.

NOTE: Out of the last six winners of the Indianapolis 500 race, five will be in the field for the next version, and that’s one of the things that makes Indianapolis the best of the best motor racing events in the world.

Frequently Asked Questions

To give you a better picture of how the race has gone down. Here are some of the most common questions.

Who Have the Most Multiple Victories?

There are three drivers who have multiple victories. Each one of them has four victories to their names. They are.

  • A. J. Foyt: 1961, 1964, 1967, 1977
  • Al Unser Sr.: 1970, 1971, 1978, 1987
  • Rick Mears: 1979, 1984, 1988, 1991

Who Have the Most Consecutive Victories?

There are five drivers with two consecutive victories, which is the highest record held until now. They are.

  • Wilbur Shaw 1939–1940
  • Mauri Rose 1947–1948
  • Bill Vukovich 1953–1954
  • Al Unser Sr. 1970–1971
  • Hélio Castroneves 2001–2002


Every motor racing lover should remember this. The Indianapolis 500 race takes place in the same venue ever since its inception in 1911, the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. So if you want to be there when the next champ is crowned, this is the place to be.

Different milestones have been reached, and different records set and broken. That’s the beauty of the Indy 500 motorsport racing event. You will get the youngest winners, oldest drivers, record lap times, and the best overall time. It is that epic when you get down to the Indy 500. Get your ticket today and witness as the next champ is crowned.

Scroll to Top